Ciders and wines

Here are a few of my newest ciders and wines.

 
#29 – Waynesboro cider mill 2015. 15% ABV (that’s what makes it a wine). I hopped this with Cascade Hops from Washington state. It’s now in the secondary fermentation process where it develops carbonation. We will open one in about a month and let the rest develop over time in our cellar. 

#31 – Waynesboro cider mill 2015. 15% ABV. The yeast used in this batch came from the skins of the apples. Yep, wild yeast. I’m going out on a limb. It can be perfect or so/so but the real kicker is I’ll never be able to reproduce it again. The chances of capturing the same yeast is way out of the ball park. A rare bird indeed. We shall find out in about a month.

  

These are ciders because the ABV (Alcohol By Volume) is lower. These are 5% ABV. 

#25 – Wynesboro cider mill 2015. Not much to say. No added sugar. No controlled yeast. Again wild yeast. I placed the juice in a carboy with an air lock. I gave it 2 months in the cellar. Took it out and racked it. Waited a week (for further clarification) then bottled it with a dosage to start the carbonation (I like fizzy) It’s that easy. The real trick to fantastic wines and ciders is in the aging. These go back down for a couple more years before I open them. Time capsules. 

#30 a/b – Wynesboro cider mill 2015. They are separated by a/b only because I used different yeast for the dosage (just experimenting). Yet again wild yeast. These have been sitting in oak, so I hope to get hints of vanilla, buttery oak and with a nice round structure.

After they mature I’ll make a label with my paintings on them and drink on special occasions. Cheers!

